2003/4 Newsletter

APA Sessions

  • EASTERN APA: One Hundredth Annual Meeting. Washington Hilton and Towers, Washington, D.C. (27-30 December 2003)
    • Sunday, 28 December
    • Group Session GVI-4 7:30 – 10:30 PM
    • Leibniz Society of North America, Bancroft (Terrace)
      • Chair: Mark Kulstad (Rice University)
      • Speaker: Patrick Riley (Harvard University / University of Wisconsin), “Leibniz’s Meditation on the Common Concept of Justice: 1703-2003”
  • PACIFIC APA: Sheraton/Hilton, Pasadena, California (24-29 March 2004)
    • Symposium: Leibniz’s New Essays at 300
      • Chair: John Carriero (University of California, Los Angeles)
      • Speaker 1: Martha Bolton (Rutgers University), “Nouveaux Essais: Conversation or Contest?”
      • Speaker 2: Sean Greenberg (Johns Hopkins University), “Mind, Will, and Human Freedom in the New Essays”
      • Speaker 3: Nicholas Jolley (University of California, Irvine), “Leibniz, Locke, and the Epistemology of Tolerance”
  • CENTRAL APA: Palmer House Hilton, Chicago (22-25 April 2004)
    • Friday, 23 April
    • Group Session GIII-3 7:30 – 10:30 PM
    • Leibniz Society of North America, Private Dining Room 9
      • Chair: J. A. Cover (Purdue University)
      • Speaker 1: Jack Davidson (Iowa State University), “Leibniz on Freedom and Sin: Two Early Texts” (Winner, 2003 LSNA Essay Competition)
      • Speaker 2: Michael Murray (Franklin and Marshal College),”Moral Necessity”
      • Commentator: Robert C. Sleigh Jr. (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)

LSNA Essay Contest

  • The winner of the 2003 Leibniz Society Essay Competition is Jack Davidson, for his essay, “Leibniz on Freedom and Sin: Two Early Texts.”
  • Twenty-second annual competition (2004): In an effort to encourage the study of the philosophy of Leibniz in North America and to give recognition to deserving scholars, the Leibniz Society of North America is continuing its annual Essay Competition. Submitted essays should be on some aspect of the philosophy of Leibniz. They should be from twelve to twenty-five pages in length (double-spaced), and should be submitted by June 1, 2004, as determined by postmark. The winning essay (or essays) will be presented before the Society at the 2004-2005 A.P.A. Meetings, traditionally at the Central Division Meetings, with the Society retaining final discretion as to the specific site. In addition, the author of a winning essay will have the option of publishing it in the Leibniz Review. To facilitate anonymous judging, the author’s name should be given only on a separate title page or cover sheet and should not appear in the body or footnotes of the paper. Judges reserve the right not to name a winner in the event that none of the submissions is deemed to be of sufficient quality or suitability for the award. Suitability for oral presentation may play a role in the judging. Full scholarly apparatus is preferred but not required; sufficiently developed works-in-progress will, therefore, have a chance in the competition and may be submitted. Previous one-time winners are encouraged to re-enter, but a given person can win the competition at most twice. Essays in French or German may be submitted as well as those in English, but all applicants should keep in mind the condition of presentation and should not submit an essay unless they will be able to read their paper at the designated A.P.A. Meeting. Please send submissions to the Editor of the Leibniz Society Newsletter: Editor of the Leibniz Society Newsletter, Professor Mark Kulstad, Department of Philosophy, MS-14, Rice University, Houston, TX 77251-1892 // (713) 348-2724 // kulstad@ruf.rice.edu

2003 Election Results

Election Results, Leibniz Society of North America Society Business Meeting of Dec. 28, 2003 A.P.A. Eastern Division Meetings, Washington, D.C.

  • Vice-President, Gregory Brown
  • Secretary-Treasurer, Michael Murray
  • Board Member, Martha Bolton
  • Board Member, Glenn Hartz

All of these positions on the Executive Committee of the Leibniz Society of North America have four-year terms, with the terms officially beginning on December 1, 2004. Special thanks are extended to those whose terms will end at that time. Your service to the Leibniz Society has been, and continues to be, very much appreciated.